Windows will always assume that it is the only operating system on a computer. It's not interested in sharing.
pluc•
It doesn't overwrite - it writes. That there's something in it already that you want to keep is entirely your fault. If it was another Windows, you'd want it overwritten so they're actually doing you a favour. It doesn't matter that it isn't.
spottedmarley•
Ask Clippy.
Clippy knows everything.
hypercube33•
Probably due to their panic for the 2023 secure boot cert stuff and or security issues being patched in uefi/recovery. It probably just bulldozes over anything there to lay down a clean boot partition.